
How Many Emails Can I Send a Day Without Going to Spam? The Real Limits for Gmail, Outlook and Cold Email
Quick answer: No mailbox provider publishes a safe number of emails per day. Google, Yahoo and Microsoft publish hard caps and sender rules, not a spam-free volume. The caps are 500 a day for personal Gmail, 2,000 for a Google Workspace user, 5,000 daily recipients for Outlook.com with a Microsoft 365 subscription and 10,000 for Exchange Online. What decides the spam folder is your complaint rate: Google says keep it below 0.1% and never reach 0.3%. On 1,000 emails that is one complaint as the target and three as the limit. Limits read on 28 September 2026.
Is there a safe number of emails you can send per day?
No. Nobody who runs an inbox publishes one. A figure such as "50 a day" quoted as a Google rule has no Google source.
The providers publish two things. Hard caps are the most one account may send before it is stopped; they protect the provider from abuse and say nothing about the inbox. Sender rules cover authentication, unsubscribe, and the share of recipients who mark your mail as spam. That share, the spam rate, is the number that decides placement.
The only per-day outreach advice comes from cold-email tools about their own product: lemlist says 30 to 40 a day per inbox, Instantly 30 plus 10 warm-up. So the honest answer to "how many" is a complaint budget, not a volume.
How many emails can I send per day in Gmail without being blocked?
A personal Gmail account can send 500 emails a day, and a Google Workspace user 2,000. Both are caps, not deliverability advice.
Gmail Help's page on sending limits gives the reason first: "To help prevent spam and keep accounts safe, Gmail limits the number of emails you can send or get per day, and the number of people you can add as recipients." Then the figure, typo included: "You may see this message if you send an email to a total of more than 500 recipients in a single email and or more than 500 emails sent in a day."
Hit the cap and sending stops: "When you get this error, you should be able to send emails again within 1 to 24 hours." Heavy bounces from invalid addresses trigger a similar block, so a stale list can lock you out before 500.
| Account | Daily cap | Per message | When exceeded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal Gmail | 500 emails | 500 recipients | Sending returns within 24 hours |
| Google Workspace, paid | 2,000; 1,500 by mail merge | 2,000 total, 500 external | No new messages for up to 24 hours |
| Google Workspace, trial | 500 | Not stated separately | As paid |
| Outlook.com, Microsoft 365 subscriber | 5,000 recipients; 1,000 new | 500 recipients | Block length not published |
| Exchange Online, business plans | 10,000 recipients | Customizable up to 1,000 | Blocked until the rolling 24-hour count drops |
No provider says a send under the cap reaches the inbox. The consumer cap as a monthly figure (derived):
500 emails a day
x 30 days
= 15,000 emails a month, at most, from one personal Gmail account.
How many emails can you send a day with Google Workspace?
A paid Workspace user can send 2,000 messages a day, 1,500 by mail merge, and a trial account 500. The count runs over a rolling 24 hours.
Google's Workspace sending limits page says: "Sending limits can change without notice. Limits per day are applied over a rolling 24-hour period, not a set time of day." Total recipients are capped at 10,000 a day and unique external recipients at 2,000 (500 for trials). Outreach to new people outside your company hits the external cap first.
Aliases do not add capacity: "Messages sent from a user's alternate address, or alias" count toward the same user's limit.
Trials rise slowly. Limits "aren't increased during the free trial period", and they "automatically increase when your domain has cumulatively paid at least $100 USD (or equivalent)." Then: "It can take up to 75 days after meeting this payment threshold for account sending limits to increase." A new domain can spend months at 500.
What is the Outlook sending limit?
Outlook.com allows Microsoft 365 subscribers 5,000 recipients a day, 500 per message, and 1,000 people you have never emailed before. Exchange Online business mailboxes allow 10,000 recipients a day.
Microsoft's Outlook.com sending limits page defines the third cap: "A 'non-relationship recipient' is someone you've never sent email to before." It adds: "Limits may vary based on usage history and will be lower for non-subscribers." Microsoft does not publish the free Outlook.com numbers. The new-recipient cap sets the pace for a cold list (derived):
5,000 new contacts
/ 1,000 new recipients a day
= at least five days to reach each once.
Microsoft Learn's Exchange Online limits page gives "10,000 recipients per day" and "30 messages per minute" across the Business and Enterprise plans. It does not state the default per-message recipient limit. And it is blunt: "Exchange Online isn't suited to accommodate bulk-mailing scenarios."
How many emails can you send before being considered spam?
No count makes you "spam". The label that changes the rules is "bulk sender": Google draws it at close to 5,000 messages a day to personal Gmail accounts, Microsoft at more than 5,000 a day, and Yahoo publishes no number.
Google's sender guidelines FAQ says: "A bulk sender is any email sender that sends close to 5,000 messages or more to personal Gmail accounts within a 24-hour period. Messages sent from the same primary domain count toward the 5,000 limit." Subdomains do not split the count, and the status sticks: "Senders who meet the above criteria at least once are permanently considered bulk senders."
| Rule | Yahoo | Microsoft | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bulk threshold | Close to 5,000 a day to personal Gmail | Not published | More than 5,000 a day |
| Spam rate | Below 0.1%, never 0.3% | Below 0.3% | Not published |
| Authentication, bulk | SPF and DKIM, DMARC p=none | SPF and DKIM, DMARC p=none | SPF, DKIM, DMARC p=none |
| Unsubscribe | One-click, within 48 hours | One-click, "within 2 days" | Visible link recommended |
| Enforcement | Rejections ramped up from November 2025 | Gradual from February 2024 | From 5 May 2025 |
Google's email sender guidelines tell every sender: "Set up SPF or DKIM email authentication for your sending domains" and "Keep spam rates reported in Postmaster Tools below 0.3%." Bulk senders must also "Set up DMARC email authentication for your sending domain. Your DMARC enforcement policy can be set to none," and marketing mail "must support one-click unsubscribe, and include a clearly visible unsubscribe link in the message body."
Yahoo's Sender Hub matches almost line for line: "Implement both SPF & DKIM", "Honor unsubscribes within 2 days" and "Keep your spam rate below 0.3%". It adds: "Spam rate is calculated in our system based on mail delivered to the inbox".
What is a spam-rate budget, and how do I work out mine?
A spam-rate budget is the number of complaints a day's send can absorb. Multiply your daily volume by Google's target of 0.1% and its hard line of 0.3%.
Google's FAQ gives the rule and the clock: "Spam rate is calculated daily. To help ensure messages are delivered as expected, senders should keep their spam rate below 0.1% and should prevent spam rates from ever reaching 0.3% or higher".
Worked example, a newsletter of 1,000 sent in one day (derived):
1,000 emails x 0.1% = 1 complaint. That is the target.
1,000 emails x 0.3% = 3 complaints. That is the line.
The fourth "Report spam" click on that send crosses it.
| Emails sent in a day | Target, 0.1% | Never reach, 0.3% |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | 1 complaint | 3 complaints |
| 5,000 | 5 complaints | 15 complaints |
A smaller send buys less slack, not more. And the budget is spent by people who did not expect your email, so a bought or scraped list burns it fastest. Recovery is slow: "It can take time for improvements in spam rate to reflect positively on spam classification."
Transparency note: every limit, price and quotation on this page was read from the pages of Google, Yahoo, Microsoft, the FTC, lemlist, Instantly, GetResponse, Kit and Mailchimp on 28 September 2026, and where a page publishes nothing, this article says so instead of estimating. CriticNest has no affiliate or commercial relationship with Google, Yahoo, Microsoft, lemlist, Instantly, GetResponse, Kit or Mailchimp, and every link to them is a plain link. Nothing here is a paid placement; if that changes, the disclosure will move to the top of this article.
How many cold emails can you send in a day?
The cold-email tools recommend about 30 a day per inbox: lemlist says 30 to 40 once warmed up, Instantly 30 campaign emails plus 10 warm-up. Neither Google nor Microsoft publishes a cold-email number.
lemlist's help article on sending limits is the most specific source anywhere: "New mailbox, just out of warm-up: 30-40 emails/day per inbox through lemlist. Open at 30 and move to 40 only once a month of clean sending is behind the mailbox." Its ceiling is "under 70/day per provider" including warm-up and replies, and a domain under a month old stays "under 100 emails/day , every mailbox on it combined". Warm-up ramps "+1/day for about 40 days, then holds at target for 14 days", about 54 days before the first campaign email.
Instantly's campaign options article says: "We recommend sending 30 campaign emails + 10 warmup emails per day per email account for best results." Its own AirMail mailboxes cap lower, at "20 emails per account per day."
| Source | Per inbox per day | Warm-up | Other ceiling |
|---|---|---|---|
| lemlist | 30 to 40 | About 10 on top | Under 70 per provider; new domain under 100 |
| Instantly | 30 | 10, not counted | AirMail max 20 |
| Not published | Not published | 500 or 2,000 hard cap | |
| Microsoft | Not published | Not published | 1,000 new recipients on Outlook.com |
What that advice produces for three inboxes (derived from the vendors' figures):
Instantly: 3 inboxes x 30 = 90 cold emails a day.
lemlist at the top: 3 inboxes x 40 = 120 a day.
Over 22 working days: 90 x 22 = 1,980 a month; 120 x 22 = 2,640.
Both sit far under the Workspace cap, because the vendors are guarding the complaint budget. When replies arrive, the article on whether a small business needs a CRM covers where to track them, and the breakdown of what HubSpot's CRM costs covers a common free starting point.
Are cold outreach and newsletters held to the same rules?
Yes for the mailbox rules, no for the risk. Both need authentication, an unsubscribe and a low spam rate. Google's rule covers "Marketing messages and subscribed messages", so cold mail that sells something needs a one-click opt-out too.
Subscribers asked for your mail; strangers did not, and press "Report spam" more often against the same daily budget. So newsletters use list tools such as Kit, while cold outreach uses tools that pace a few dozen emails across several inboxes.
What does CAN-SPAM require, and what does breaking it cost?
In the United States, CAN-SPAM requires honest headers and subject lines, an ad label, a postal address and an opt-out honoured within ten business days. Each violating email can cost up to $53,088.
| FTC requirement, verbatim | In practice |
|---|---|
| Don't use false or misleading header information. | Accurate From and routing |
| Don't use deceptive subject lines. | Subject matches content |
| Identify the message as an ad. | Say it is an advertisement |
| Tell recipients where you're located. | A valid postal address |
| Tell recipients how to opt out of receiving future marketing email from you. | An opt-out in every message |
| Honor opt-out requests promptly. | Within ten business days |
| Monitor what others are doing on your behalf. | You stay liable for your agency |
The FTC's CAN-SPAM compliance guide is exact on timing: "Any opt-out mechanism you offer must be able to process opt-out requests for at least 30 days after you send your message. You must honor a recipient's opt-out request within 10 business days." Google recommends 48 hours and Yahoo says "within 2 days", so meeting the mailbox rule covers the legal one.
The penalty: "Each separate email in violation of the CAN-SPAM Act is subject to penalties of up to $53,088, so non-compliance can be costly." It scales per email (derived, a statutory maximum, not a typical fine):
100 non-compliant emails
x $53,088
= up to $5,308,800.
Outsourcing does not move the risk; the sender and the promoted company "may be held legally responsible." The guide sets no daily volume limit and no opt-in rule. Other countries' laws are not covered here.
When should you move off Gmail to a sending tool, and what does it cost?
Move when you send to a list rather than to individuals, or when volume nears the caps. Free newsletter plans cover small lists; the cold-email tools here start at $47 a month.
These are tool prices only; mailboxes and domains cost extra. The Workspace seat price and Mailchimp's paid prices were not read for this article, so neither is printed.
| Tool and plan | Monthly billing | Yearly, per month | Allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp Free | $0 | $0 | 500 a month or 250 a day, 250 contacts |
| GetResponse Free | $0 | $0 | 2,500 a month, 500 contacts |
| Kit Free | $0 | $0 | Unlimited broadcasts, up to 10,000 subscribers |
| GetResponse Starter, 1,000 contacts | $19 | $15.58 | Unlimited monthly sends |
| Kit Creator, 1,000 subscribers | $39 | $33 | Unlimited broadcasts |
| Instantly Growth | $47 | $37.60 | 5,000 emails a month |
| lemlist Email, 50,000 tier | $69 | $55 | 50,000 emails a month |
Free plans stop at the limit. Mailchimp: "Sending will be paused if contact or email send limit is exceeded."
Tool cost per mailbox for three cold inboxes (derived):
Instantly Growth: $47 / 3 = $15.67 a mailbox monthly; $37.60 / 3 = $12.53 yearly.
lemlist Email: $69 / 3 = $23.00 a mailbox monthly; $55 / 3 = $18.33 yearly.
A year of Instantly Growth: $37.60 x 12 = $451.20. Of lemlist Email: $55 x 12 = $660.
Three inboxes at 30 a day for 30 days is 2,700 emails, inside Instantly Growth's "5000 Emails Monthly". For a fuller look at newsletter platforms, see the guide to email marketing software for small businesses. The sending domain sits in your website bill, itemised in the article on what a small business website costs.
How much should I send per day at my list size?
Send an opted-in list in one go if your plan allows it, and hold cold outreach to about 30 per warmed inbox. This is a starting plan built from the published caps, not a promise of inbox placement.
| Situation | Where the cap bites | Starting plan |
|---|---|---|
| Newsletter, under 250 contacts | Mailchimp Free: 250 a day, 500 a month | Two full-list sends a month |
| Newsletter, under 500 contacts | GetResponse Free: 2,500 a month | Five full-list sends a month |
| Newsletter, up to 10,000 | Kit Free: unlimited broadcasts | Watch the 0.1% budget, not the count |
| Nearing 5,000 a day to Gmail | Permanent bulk sender status | DMARC and one-click unsubscribe first |
| Cold outreach, new domain | lemlist: under 100 a day per domain | Warm up, then 30 per inbox |
| Cold outreach, warmed inbox | lemlist 30 to 40; Instantly 30 | Add inboxes, not volume per inbox |
The free-plan rows are division (derived): GetResponse 2,500 / 500 = 5 full-list sends; Mailchimp 500 / 250 = 2. Past a few dozen personal emails a day, a tool also does what Google asks: "Automatically unsubscribe recipients who have multiple bounced messages."
How do I check my spam rate?
Use Google Postmaster Tools for Gmail recipients and Yahoo's Complaint Feedback Loop for Yahoo.
Google's Postmaster Tools setup page says the dashboards cover "spam rate, reputation, message authentication, and delivery errors", but "Data in Postmaster Tools only applies to messages sent to personal Gmail accounts." Small senders may see empty charts until volume "increases enough to populate the dashboards." Until then, the signals are in your own tool: unsubscribes, bounces and replies.
Does Microsoft send failing mail to junk or reject it?
Microsoft's own announcement says both; the later update says reject. Plan for rejection.
Microsoft's Tech Community post on high-volume senders says first: "Non-compliant messages will first be routed to Junk. If issues remain unresolved, they may eventually be rejected." The update on the same page reads: "we have made a decision to reject messages that don't pass the required authentication requirements detailed above," with the error "550; 5.7.515 Access denied, sending domain [SendingDomain] does not meet the required authentication level." Enforcement began on 5 May 2025.
How this was researched
Every figure and quotation was read on 28 September 2026 from the pages linked above: five Google help pages, Yahoo's Sender Hub, three Microsoft pages, the FTC's CAN-SPAM guide, and the pricing and help pages of lemlist, Instantly, GetResponse, Kit and Mailchimp. Each was fetched as plain HTML; pricing pages were also rendered in a fresh headless Chrome profile and the two readings compared. Curly quotes were straightened; wording is otherwise verbatim.
What could not be verified: Yahoo publishes no bulk-sender number and no 0.1% target, and its personal sending limits were not checked. Microsoft does not publish free Outlook.com limits, the Exchange Online default per-message limit or the per-licence tenant limit. The Workspace seat price and Mailchimp's paid prices were not read. No inbox placement test was run, no tool was bought for this article, and nothing was benchmarked. The author's role here is the careful reader of the fine print.
The verdict: budget complaints, not emails
No mailbox provider publishes a safe number of emails per day. The figures people quote are hard caps (Gmail 500, Workspace 2,000, Outlook.com 5,000, Exchange Online 10,000) or cold-email vendors' advice (about 30 per inbox). Neither says whether a send reaches the inbox.
The complaint rate does. Google's line is below 0.1% and never 0.3%, calculated daily; Yahoo draws the same 0.3% line. On 1,000 emails that is one complaint as the target and three as the limit. Pass SPF, DKIM and DMARC, offer one-click unsubscribe, and honour it within 48 hours.
The decision rule: newsletters go to opted-in lists through a newsletter tool, at whatever volume the plan allows. Cold outreach goes through a pacing tool at about 30 per warmed inbox and grows by adding inboxes. Either way, watch the complaint budget first.
Frequently asked questions
How many emails can I send a day without going to spam?
No provider publishes a safe number. The rule that decides the spam folder is the complaint rate: Google says keep it below 0.1% and never reach 0.3%. On 1,000 emails that is one complaint as the target and three as the limit.
How many emails can I send per day in Gmail without being blocked?
A personal Gmail account can send to 500 recipients a day, per Gmail Help. Past that, sending stops and returns within 24 hours. The cap is about abuse, not the inbox, so staying under 500 does not keep you out of spam.
How many emails can you send a day with Google Workspace?
A paid Workspace user can send 2,000 messages a day, or 1,500 by mail merge, over a rolling 24 hours. Trial accounts get 500 until the domain has paid at least $100 USD, and the increase can take up to 75 days.
What is the Outlook sending limit per day?
Outlook.com lets Microsoft 365 subscribers send to 5,000 recipients a day, 500 per message, and 1,000 new recipients. Microsoft does not publish the lower limits for non-subscribers. Exchange Online business mailboxes allow 10,000 recipients a day.
How many cold emails can you send in a day?
The cold-email tools recommend about 30 per inbox per day: lemlist says 30 to 40 once warmed up, Instantly 30 plus 10 warm-up. Google and Microsoft publish no cold-email figure. To send more, add warmed inboxes.
How many emails make you a bulk sender?
Google treats you as a bulk sender once you send close to 5,000 messages to personal Gmail accounts in 24 hours, counted across your primary domain. The status is permanent. Microsoft's rules target domains sending more than 5,000 a day. Yahoo publishes no number.
What spam complaint rate is too high?
Google's line is 0.3%, and it asks senders to stay below 0.1%, saying rates above 0.1% already hurt inbox delivery for bulk senders. Google calculates the rate daily. Yahoo asks for below 0.3%.
How fast do I have to process unsubscribes?
Google recommends within 48 hours and Yahoo says within two days. The US legal floor under CAN-SPAM is ten business days, with the opt-out working for at least 30 days after the send. Meeting the mailbox timing covers the law.
Does CAN-SPAM limit how many emails I can send?
No. The FTC's guide sets no daily volume limit and no opt-in requirement. It requires honest headers and subjects, an ad label, a postal address and a working opt-out. Each violating email can draw a penalty of up to $53,088.
Do I need a warm-up before sending cold email?
The cold-email vendors say yes. lemlist sends no campaign email while its warm-up ramps by one a day for about 40 days, then holds for 14 days. Instantly runs 10 warm-up emails a day alongside campaigns. Google and Microsoft publish nothing on warm-up.


