A shopper browsing the AppSumo deal grid on a laptop beside a Black Friday screen, wrapped gifts and a desk calendar reading 60 days
SaaS & Productivity

AppSumo Black Friday: How the Drops Worked in 2025, and How to Buy Without Wasting the 60 Days

By Ashikur Rahman18 min read

Quick answer: AppSumo's 2025 Black Friday ran from 17 November to 2 December, with five themed drops on consecutive days from 17 to 21 November and a sitewide 10% discount from 23 November, 19% for Plus members. Each drop's tools sat at their lowest price for one week before the price rose, so the cheapest day for a Drop 1 tool came before the sitewide discount had started. The 60-day refund window on a 17 November purchase closed on 16 January, across the holidays. AppSumo has not announced 2026 dates as of 25 September 2026, and every page claiming them is guessing. Buy on the drop day, redeem the same day, decide by day 45.

What did AppSumo's Black Friday look like in 2025?

The dates come from AppSumo itself, not from a roundup. AppSumo's Black Friday 2025 giveaway page states that "Black Friday runs from November 17 (8 am CT) to December 2, 2025 (noon CT)". That is a sixteen-day sale, and only part of it was discounted sitewide. The rest was structured as drops.

A drop was a themed batch of deals released on one day. The giveaway page lists five, one per day from Monday 17 November to Friday 21 November. Each drop's tools sat at their lowest price for one week. After that week the price rose. Two days after the last drop, on 23 November, the sitewide 10% discount began, 19% for Plus members. The public sale closed at noon Central Time on 2 December, and Plus members then had Extended Access until noon on 5 December.

Read as a calendar, the sale had three phases: the drops, when the deepest prices appeared; the sitewide discount, when everything else in the store moved; and a members-only tail. The table sets out every dated event on AppSumo's own pages and what each did to the price.

Date in 2025What happenedWhat it meant for the price
17 November, 8 am CTSale opened. Drop 1, "Video & Visual Studio"Drop 1 tools at their lowest price. No sitewide discount yet
18 NovemberDrop 2, "Automate Everything"Drop 2 tools at their lowest price
19 NovemberDrop 3, "Grow Your Audience"Drop 3 tools at their lowest price
20 NovemberDrop 4, "Build Without Limits"Drop 4 tools at their lowest price
21 NovemberDrop 5, "Create Content Smarter"Drop 5 tools at their lowest price
23 NovemberSitewide 10% discount began, 19% for PlusApplied across the store, six days after Drop 1
24 NovemberDrop 1 week endedDrop 1 prices rose
2 December, noon CTPublic sale closedSale pricing ended for non-members
2 December noon CT to 5 December noon CTExtended Access for Plus membersMembers only, three further days

Two things in that table are missing from most pages that rank for this query. The drops came before the sitewide discount, not during it. And the drop price had a one-week life. Together they produce the finding this article is built on.

Why was the cheapest day before the sitewide discount started?

Because the two discounts sat on different calendars. The drop price for a Drop 1 tool went live at 8 am Central on 17 November. The sitewide 10% did not begin until 23 November, six days later. By AppSumo's own description, the drop week was the tool's lowest price. So for a Drop 1 tool, the six days from 17 to 22 November were the floor, and no discount that arrived afterwards went below it.

Then the week ran out. Drop 1 buyers had seven days at the drop price before the rise on 24 November. From that day a Drop 1 tool cost more than it had on launch day, with or without the sitewide 10%. Anyone who waited for "Black Friday proper", meaning the calendar Friday or the sitewide discount, paid the higher price for the tools in the first drop.

What the pages do not say is whether the sitewide 10% stacked on a drop price on 23 November, the one day both were live for Drop 1. This article does not assume it did. If you read a claim that it stacked, ask for the deal page screenshot.

The rule follows directly. If the tool you want appears in a drop, the drop day is the day to buy. The sitewide discount is for everything that was not in a drop: the standing catalogue, at 10% off for everyone and 19% off for Plus members. Those are different purchases and they want different timing.

What were the five drops, and which one matters to you?

AppSumo named each drop by job rather than by product category: "Video & Visual Studio" on 17 November, "Automate Everything" on 18 November, "Grow Your Audience" on 19 November, "Build Without Limits" on 20 November and "Create Content Smarter" on 21 November. The giveaway page names the themes; it does not publish the full product list per drop, so this article does not assign specific tools to specific drops.

The theme names tell you which day to watch if the shape repeats. A buyer after an avatar or text-to-video tool would have wanted the first day, and the trade-offs in those deals, monthly credit allowances rather than unlimited video, are worked through in what a $99 AI video lifetime deal really buys. A buyer after ranking, content optimisation or AI visibility tracking would have watched the third and fifth days, and the deals that hold up against a subscription are separated from the toys in the AppSumo SEO deals that replace a paid seat. Automation buyers had the second day.

Knowing the day matters because of the one-week price life. A buyer who shortlisted on 21 November, when the last drop landed, had already missed four days of the Drop 1 price and had three left. The shortlist has to exist before the sale opens, or the drop mechanic works against you.

What was the Plus 19% worth on a real basket?

Every Black Friday page mentions the 19% for Plus members. Few work it out. AppSumo's Plus page, read on 25 September 2026, lists three plans: Plus Annual at "$99.00/yr", Plus Monthly at "$12.00/mo" and Plus Pro at "$199.00/yr". All three give "10% off every order, automatically" through the year. The Black Friday collection page's own line is "All our Black Friday drop deals in one place. All 10% off (19% off for Plus members)."

PlanPriceCouponsBlack Friday 2025 rateWe Got Your Back cover
No membershipNo feeNone10%50% credit, Select tools, 12 months
Plus Monthly$12 a month, $144 a yearNone19%100% credit, 12 months
Plus Annual$99 a year, $8.25 a month$100 in coupons, $25 every 90 days19%100% credit, 12 months
Plus Pro$199 a year, $16.58 a month$100 in coupons, $25 every 90 days19%100% credit, 24 months

On a $500 Black Friday basket, 10% saves $50 and 19% saves $95. The extra 9% is worth $45. Against the $99 Annual fee, that extra 9% alone covers the membership at $1,100 of Black Friday purchases, because $99 divided by 0.09 is $1,100. Below that basket the Annual fee is paid back by the coupons and the year of 10%, not by the sale, and that calculation lives in the $99 break-even worked out from AppSumo's Plus terms.

The Monthly plan changes the sum. At $12 for the sale month, the fee is smaller than the $45 difference on a $500 basket. The Plus page says Monthly can be cancelled at any time and carries no coupons. It also says "All plans are subscriptions and are not refundable", and the refund policy adds that "After membership rewards have been used, your AppSumo Plus membership is non-refundable." The decision is made before the first discounted order, not after.

One benefit sits outside the discount arithmetic. The We Got Your Back guarantee pays a 100% store credit to Plus members if a Select tool shuts down inside its coverage period, against 50% for non-members. On a basket of lifetime deals, that is the difference between recovering the whole purchase as credit and recovering half. It is not cash either way.

Transparency note: CriticNest has no affiliate or commercial relationship with AppSumo or with any deal named on this page. CriticNest has not joined AppSumo's affiliate program as of 25 September 2026, and every AppSumo link in this article is a plain link with no tracking parameter; if that changes, the disclosure will move to the top of this article. For the record, AppSumo's affiliate program page offers "Earn 100% of the sale (up to $50) in commission whenever a new AppSumo customer you send us makes a purchase" on a "7-day cookie to help monitor your referrals", which is why most Black Friday deal pages you will read are written by affiliates with a reason to hurry you. Every date, price and quotation here was read on AppSumo's own pages on 25 September 2026.

What did Extended Access give Plus members?

After the public sale closed at noon Central on 2 December 2025, the giveaway page states that Plus members had Extended Access until noon Central on 5 December. The Plus page lists "Early Access, Last Call & Extended Access" as a standing membership benefit, so this was the Black Friday version of a general perk.

What the pages read on 25 September 2026 do not say is which prices applied during those three days: whether the drop prices returned, whether the 19% still applied, or whether deals were simply available at their post-sale price. So this article describes Extended Access as what AppSumo describes it as: access, for members, after the public close. It helped the buyer who found a deal late. It did not help the buyer who wanted the lowest price, because every drop week had ended by 5 December.

When did the 60-day window on a Black Friday purchase close?

On 16 January 2026, for a purchase made on 17 November 2025. That date is why a sale purchase needs a calendar and not just a budget. AppSumo's Refund Policy offers a "full refund of the purchase price within the timeframe stated on the deal page (ex: 30 days, 60 days)". Sixty days is the default on most deals; some carry 30, and some are marked not refundable, so the deal page line is the only one that counts for the tool in front of you.

The policy is firm on the far edge: "once the refund window has passed, you will not be able to process a return". It is equally firm on the mistake sale buyers make most: "Refunds for unredeemed or unused tools will not be provided outside our refund window." Buying a code on 17 November and leaving it unredeemed until February meant owning a tool you had never opened, with no route back. Redemption does not restart the clock; the window runs from purchase.

AppSumo's Refund FAQ explains where the money goes. Refunds return to "the original form of payment that was selected during your refund". PayPal refunds arrive immediately. Card refunds post in five to ten business days. Purchases paid with AppSumo credits are "instantly returned to your AppSumo account" as credits, not cash. The policy also says "AppSumo reserves the right to suspend your account if you seek refunds for an unreasonable number of your purchases", which matters if you plan to buy six tools on a drop day and refund five.

AppSumo's "What is a Lifetime Deal?" page calls the refund window "the only time that your purchase is 100% protected". After it, protection depends on the listing tier: Select tools carry a 50% credit for ordinary buyers, Select and LaunchPad tools 100% for Plus members, and Radar tools nothing. How those tiers read on a deal page, and what We Got Your Back actually pays, is set out in the refund and shutdown terms to read before buying on AppSumo.

Now put the two facts together. A 17 November purchase gave sixty days that ran through late November, the whole of December and the first half of January, the stretch when most small businesses are closing the year or away from the desk. A window that is generous in March is tight in December, and it closed on 16 January whether or not you had finished testing.

How do you test a Black Friday purchase inside the window?

Treat the 60 days as a project with dates, set on the day you buy. The calendar below is written for a 17 November purchase with a 60-day window, because that is the dated example AppSumo's 2025 pages support. Shift it to whatever your deal page says.

WhenDo thisWhy
Day one, the drop dayBuy, redeem and log in the same day. Write the closing date in your calendar. Check the badge and the refund line on the deal pageUnredeemed tools cannot be refunded after the window. The badge decides what protection remains after it
Week oneRun the one job you bought the tool for, end to end, on real dataThe drop price expires in a week; a fast decision leaves time to buy an alternative at its own drop price
Day 30Second pass. Check the monthly credit or usage allowance has reset as the deal page describesAI deals meter credits monthly; you cannot see a reset without crossing a month boundary
Day 45Decide. Keep it or request the refund nowLeaves a buffer before the window closes, across the holidays, for support to process it
Day 60Window closed; 16 January for a 17 November 2025 purchaseAfter this the deal page's refund line no longer applies

The day 30 check earns its place on AI tools. AppSumo's own blog post of 4 September 2025 on how lifetime deals work in the AI era describes certain AI deals moving to credit bundles, annual refreshes or bring-your-own-API-key structures, with some offers locking credits to the models available at launch or to future models with similar costs. A "lifetime" allowance can therefore be a monthly one, tied to a model generation. The only way to test that is to use a month's allowance and watch the reset, which is why a purchase left unopened until January could never have been tested properly.

The day 45 date is the part people skip. Card refunds post in five to ten business days by AppSumo's own FAQ, and the 2025 window closed on 16 January. A refund requested on day 58 was cutting it fine. One requested on day 45 was not.

What is still listed from the 2025 sale?

The collection did not vanish when the sale ended. On 25 September 2026, AppSumo's Black Friday collection page still carried its "All 10% off (19% off for Plus members)" line and still listed two Select deals. Robomotion RPA was $119 against a list price of $1,980, with 4.76 stars from 98 reviews. Vocable AI was $89 against a list price of $360, with 4.19 stars from 53 reviews.

Whether those are drop prices, post-rise prices or something set since is not stated, so this article does not call them Black Friday prices. They are what the collection showed on 25 September 2026. Deal prices and availability on AppSumo change weekly, a deal that sells out keeps its page with a notify button and may return, and a price read in September is not a promise about November. The collection page is a real, persistent URL, and a better bookmark than any third-party countdown.

How should you prepare if AppSumo repeats the 2025 shape?

Start from the fact that nothing about 2026 is published. As of 25 September 2026 AppSumo has not announced Black Friday 2026 dates, drop themes, discount rates or a Plus rate. Every page that gives you a 2026 date is inferring it. The steps below assume the 2025 shape repeats, and none depends on a date.

Shortlist before the sale opens. The drop mechanic rewards a buyer who already knows which theme day they want and what job the tool has to do. Write down the job, the current tool that does it and what that tool costs a year. That number is the ceiling any lifetime price has to beat.

Decide on Plus before the first drop. If your basket will pass $1,100, the Annual plan's extra 9% covers its $99 fee on the sale alone, with the four $25 coupons and the year of 10% on top. If your basket is one or two tools, the Monthly plan at $12 captures the 19% and Extended Access for the sale month, with no coupons, and can be cancelled afterwards. Either way the fee is not refundable once a reward is used.

Put the window on the calendar before you buy. The arithmetic is fixed even when the dates are not: a purchase made on 16 November 2026, on a 60-day deal, would have a window closing on 15 January 2027. Whatever day you buy, add the deal page's window to it and book the day 45 decision then.

Read the badge. Select, LaunchPad and Radar carry different protection after the window, and a Radar tool at a deep drop price has no shutdown cover at all. The discount does not change the tier. And budget testing time, not just money: if you will not be at your desk between the sale and the new year, buy fewer tools, or buy on a later drop day so the window lands where you can use it.

What not to do on AppSumo's Black Friday

Do not buy on the last day a tool you cannot test before January. A purchase on 2 December 2025 had a later closing date, but the holiday weeks in the middle were the same. If the first real test would have happened in the new year, the window was half spent before it started.

Do not wait for the sitewide discount on a tool that was in a drop. The drop week was the lowest price by AppSumo's own description, and it ended before or just as the sitewide 10% arrived.

Do not leave a code unredeemed, and do not buy for the discount. A tool you would not have paid full lifetime price for is not a bargain at 19% off. The question is whether it does the job on your data inside week one.

Do not treat store credit as a refund. We Got Your Back pays credit, not cash, and Trustpilot's one-star reviews of AppSumo cluster around exactly that distinction and around disputed shutdown claims. And do not buy a sold-out deal from anywhere except AppSumo: a sold-out page keeps its notify button and the deal may return, while a code from a resale site carries none of the marketplace's refund or shutdown terms.

The short version

AppSumo's 2025 Black Friday ran from 17 November at 8 am Central to 2 December at noon Central. Five themed drops landed on consecutive days from 17 to 21 November, each at its lowest price for one week, and the sitewide 10% began on 23 November with 19% for Plus members. So a Drop 1 tool was cheapest in the six days before the sitewide discount existed, and cost more from 24 November. The 60-day refund window on a 17 November purchase closed on 16 January 2026, with the holidays in the middle. The decision rule: shortlist by theme before the sale, buy on the drop day, redeem the same day, run the real job in week one, decide by day 45. Take Plus Annual if the basket will pass $1,100, Plus Monthly at $12 if it will not, and remember neither is refundable once used. AppSumo has published no 2026 dates as of 25 September 2026; treat every page that has as a guess.

Frequently asked questions

When is AppSumo Black Friday 2026?

AppSumo has not announced Black Friday 2026 dates as of 25 September 2026. Any page giving a 2026 date is inferring it. In 2025 the sale ran from 17 November at 8 am Central to 2 December at noon Central, with five themed drops from 17 to 21 November, a sitewide 10% discount from 23 November and Plus-only Extended Access to 5 December. If AppSumo repeats that shape, the drops come in the week before the sitewide discount.

When was AppSumo Black Friday 2025?

AppSumo's own giveaway page states that Black Friday ran from November 17 at 8 am Central Time to December 2, 2025 at noon Central Time. Drops landed on 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21 November. The sitewide 10% discount began on 23 November. Plus members had Extended Access from noon Central on 2 December to noon Central on 5 December.

How do AppSumo Black Friday drops work?

A drop is a themed batch of deals released on one day. In 2025 there were five: "Video & Visual Studio", "Automate Everything", "Grow Your Audience", "Build Without Limits" and "Create Content Smarter", one per day from 17 to 21 November. Each drop's tools sat at their lowest price for one week and then rose. Drop 1 buyers had seven days at the drop price before the rise on 24 November.

Is the AppSumo Black Friday discount 10% or 19%?

Both, depending on membership. In 2025 the sitewide discount from 23 November was 10% for everyone and 19% for AppSumo Plus members, according to the Black Friday collection page. On a $500 basket that is $50 against $95, a $45 difference. The drop prices in the week before were separate, and AppSumo's pages do not say whether the two stacked on the one day both were live.

Do AppSumo Black Friday deals have a refund window?

Yes, the same window as any other day: the timeframe stated on the deal page, 60 days on most deals, 30 on some, and none on deals marked not refundable. A purchase on 17 November 2025 had a window closing on 16 January 2026. The policy refuses refunds for unredeemed tools outside the window, so redeem on the day you buy. Card refunds take five to ten business days to post.

Should you buy AppSumo Plus just for Black Friday?

Only if the arithmetic works. The extra 9% for members covers the $99 Annual fee at $1,100 of Black Friday purchases. Below that, the Annual plan is paid back by its $100 of coupons and the year of 10%, not by the sale. The Monthly plan at $12 captures the 19% and Extended Access for one month and can be cancelled, but has no coupons. All Plus plans are non-refundable once a reward has been used.

What is AppSumo Plus Extended Access?

Extended Access is a Plus membership benefit that keeps a sale open for members after the public close. In 2025 it ran from noon Central on 2 December to noon Central on 5 December. AppSumo's pages do not state which prices applied during those days, so read it as access rather than as a return of the drop prices, which had all ended by then.

Are AppSumo Black Friday deals still available after the sale?

Some are. On 25 September 2026 the Black Friday collection page still listed Robomotion RPA at $119, list $1,980, with 4.76 stars from 98 reviews, and Vocable AI at $89, list $360, with 4.19 stars from 53 reviews, both Select deals. Whether those are the drop prices is not stated. Deal prices and availability change weekly, and a sold-out deal keeps its page with a notify button and may return.

Can you refund an AppSumo deal you never redeemed?

Only inside the refund window. AppSumo's Refund Policy states that refunds for unredeemed or unused tools will not be provided outside the refund window, and the window runs from the purchase date, not from redemption. A code bought on a drop day and left unopened past day 60 cannot be returned. Redeeming on day one costs nothing and keeps the option open.

Is there an AppSumo Black Friday bundle?

The 2025 pages AppSumo published describe five themed drops and a sitewide discount, not a single Black Friday bundle product. Pages titled "AppSumo Black Friday bundle" are usually roundups of individual deals written by affiliates. Each deal in such a list carries its own price, tier badge and refund line, and each has to be tested on its own inside its own window.

Ashikur Rahman

Author

Ashikur Rahman

SEO and AI Search Specialist

I run SEO and AI search campaigns for medical, legal and tech businesses, and I review the tools I use along the way. Every price and claim on this site is checked at source.

Related Posts

Need SEO or a Website That Actually Ranks?

I help medical practices, law firms, and tech companies rank on Google, with 9+ years of specialized SEO. From SEO-first website design to AI search optimization, let's grow your business.

Get a Free SEO Audit