A man at a desk studying an AppSumo deal page on a laptop, with refund policy, terms of service and shutdown risk binders stacked beside it
SaaS & Productivity

Is AppSumo Legit? Read the Refund and Shutdown Terms Before You Buy

By Ashikur Rahman18 min read

Quick answer: Yes, AppSumo is legit: a marketplace founded in March 2010 that runs on revenue share and refunds to your original payment method inside the window printed on each deal page. What decides whether a purchase is safe is not the marketplace but the listing tier. Select tools carry a shutdown credit for twelve months, 50% for ordinary buyers and 100% for Plus members. LaunchPad tools carry it only for Plus members. Radar tools, which AppSumo says "have not gone through a full vetting process", carry nothing once the refund window closes. Trustpilot scores AppSumo 3.6 from 1,513 reviews, and the one-star themes are those two rules, not fraud. Every term and price here was read on 25 September 2026.

How does AppSumo make money?

AppSumo does not charge software companies to list. Its partner page, sell.appsumo.com, puts it in one line: "Nothing upfront. We run on revenue share, so we only make money when you do." The same page adds that "Revenue share rates are negotiated based on your product category and expected performance." Wikipedia puts the typical cut at 50% of each sale. AppSumo publishes no percentage, so treat the 50% as Wikipedia's number rather than AppSumo's.

That model matters for the legitimacy question. AppSumo earns nothing unless a deal sells, and it refunds out of that revenue when a buyer returns a tool inside the window. A marketplace that shipped fake products or ignored refunds would run out of software partners quickly. Sixteen years on, it has not. The company behind it, Sumo Group, Inc., is the one Noah Kagan founded in March 2010.

The partner page also describes the gate. AppSumo says it reviews "every application on functionality, stability, market fit, and value to our community" and quotes a "~10% acceptance rate". It lists what it turns away: "Pre-launch or vaporware", "No customer support plan", "Quick cash grab" and "Consumer-only products". It also claims a "1.5M" active entrepreneur community and "25K Plus members (power buyers)". All of those are AppSumo's own figures, nothing outside AppSumo audits them, and this article treats them as marketing.

So the marketplace is real, the company is real and the incentive runs the right way. None of that tells you whether the tool you are about to buy will still exist in two years. That question lives in the listing tier.

What "lifetime" means in AppSumo's own words

AppSumo's help centre article "What is a Lifetime Deal?" gives the definition most buyers never read: "Once you purchase and redeem a lifetime deal, you have access to that tool for the lifetime of the product." The lifetime is the product's, not yours. If the product closes, the deal closes with it.

The same page says so directly: "In rare cases, our friends do get acquired or discontinue their services." It puts historical closures at around 5 percent of tools launched. That is AppSumo's own figure. Nothing independent confirms it, and the page does not say how it was counted. Read it as the marketplace's estimate, not as an audited rate.

One more line from that page sets up everything below. The refund window is described as "the only time that your purchase is 100% protected." After it closes, your protection depends on which badge the deal carried when you bought it. AppSumo also states that it does not endorse the products and accepts no liability for them. The marketplace is the till, not the warranty.

What does AppSumo's refund policy actually say?

The refund rules live in two help centre articles, the Refund Policy and the Refund FAQ. Read together on 25 September 2026, they say six things that matter.

RuleWhat AppSumo's page saysWhat it means for you
The window"full refund of the purchase price within the timeframe stated on the deal page (ex: 30 days, 60 days)"Set per deal, not sitewide. Read the line on the deal page.
After the window"once the refund window has passed, you will not be able to process a return"No exceptions are published.
Unredeemed codes"Refunds for unredeemed or unused tools will not be provided outside our refund window."Not redeeming does not pause the clock.
Digital downloads"cannot be returned or refunded."Templates, ebooks and course files are final at purchase.
Excessive refunds"AppSumo reserves the right to suspend your account if you seek refunds for an unreasonable number of your purchases"No number is published for "unreasonable".
Plus membership"After membership rewards have been used, your AppSumo Plus membership is non-refundable."Decide on Plus before using the first coupon.

Most deal pages carry the line "60-day money back promise", and most "AppSumo review" articles stop there. The policy itself never names 60 days as a rule. It points to "the timeframe stated on the deal page", and on 25 September 2026 that timeframe varied. AahSheet, a Select SEO tool at $59 with a 4.93 rating, was marked "Not refundable" and "Deal is ineligible for refunds/downgrades". The Hostinger Bundle at $34 was marked "Non-refundable". Sixty days is the common case, not the rule.

Where the money goes is also specified. Refunds go to "the original form of payment that was selected during your refund." PayPal refunds arrive immediately. Card refunds post in five to ten business days. Purchases made with AppSumo credits are "instantly returned to your AppSumo account" as credits. The FAQ adds: "Refunds are immediate on our part; however, please note your payment processor may take longer to post the funds in your account."

The unredeemed rule is the one that catches people. A code bought in a sale and left in the account does not stop the window. Redeem on day one, so the window is spent testing rather than waiting.

The listing tier decides your protection after the window

This is the finding. AppSumo sells under four badges plus a Plus-only marker, and each badge carries a different promise once the refund window has closed. The badges read like marketing labels. They are contract terms.

Select deals carry a badge that reads "Carefully selected by AppSumo for quality, performance, and support." The partner page explains what earns it: "Select is a premium badge earned by top performing partners. It comes with dedicated marketing campaigns, priority placement, and a higher investment from our team." LaunchPad deals are "Chosen by AppSumo for their potential and innovation", and the LaunchPad collection listed 59 products on 25 September 2026. Radar is defined only on the We Got Your Back page: "Products that are brand new and at the earliest stage of their journey. These tools have been scanned for safety but have not gone through a full vetting process." AppSumo Originals are "Created and developed by AppSumo for entrepreneurs everywhere", which covers SendFox, TidyCal and KingSumo.

The help centre article on the We Got Your Back guarantee turns those labels into money. "We Got Your Back provides a 100% credit to Plus customers and a 50% credit to non-Plus customers whenever a Select tool shuts down during the purchase's Coverage Period." For LaunchPad: "Plus members also receive 100% credit for LaunchPad tool closures during the Coverage Period." Non-Plus buyers of LaunchPad tools are not mentioned, and Radar products are given no Coverage Period at all.

TierHow the badge readsNon-Plus buyer after a shutdownPlus member after a shutdownCoverage period
Select"Carefully selected by AppSumo for quality, performance, and support."50% store credit100% store credit12 months from purchase; 24 on Plus Pro Annual
LaunchPad"Chosen by AppSumo for their potential and innovation."Nothing published100% store credit12 months from purchase; 24 on Plus Pro Annual
Radar"scanned for safety but have not gone through a full vetting process"NothingNothingNone published
AppSumo Originals"Created and developed by AppSumo for entrepreneurs everywhere"Not named on the We Got Your Back pageNot named on the We Got Your Back pageNot stated
Plus exclusiveRequires an active Plus membership to buyCannot buyFollows the deal's own badgeNot stated separately

Coverage is fixed at purchase. The page says: "Purchases made while the Customer has an active Plus Pro Annual membership have a Coverage Period of 24 months from the Purchase Date. All other purchases ... have a Coverage Period of 12 months from the Purchase Date." And: "A purchase's Coverage Period is fixed on the Purchase Date and does not change if the Customer later upgrades, downgrades, or cancels their Plus membership." Joining Plus after a tool has closed changes nothing. Cancelling Plus after buying changes nothing either.

Radar deals were live on 25 September 2026 at $49 for Rival Ads (list $441) and $5 for Rhino Voice, among others. None carried shutdown cover. The price is the whole risk, which is a reasonable bet at $5 and a decision at $49.

How does a We Got Your Back claim actually pay out?

Two rules on the same page decide whether the credit ever arrives. First, the deadline: "Customers must email AppSumo's Support Team at support@appsumo.com within 30 days from the date a closure announcement is made." The clock starts at the announcement, not on the day you notice the tool is gone. If you stopped logging in months ago, you may never see the announcement, and the page publishes no exception for that.

Second, the currency: "Store credits are issued as AppSumo Credits, which are not exchangeable for cash." A successful claim does not return money to your card. It returns spending power on AppSumo. For a buyer who will keep using the marketplace that is a fair outcome. For one who has stopped, it is a coupon.

Here is the arithmetic on a real listing. NEURONwriter is a Select tool with 804 reviews and a 60-day refund line. On 25 September 2026 one code cost $109 and two stacked codes cost $218. Suppose a buyer takes two codes and the vendor announces a shutdown eight months later, inside the twelve-month Coverage Period.

A non-Plus buyer who emails support inside the thirty-day deadline receives 50% of $218, which is $109 in AppSumo credits. A Plus member on the $99 Annual plan receives 100%, which is $218 in credits. The gap between the two outcomes is $109, more than the $99 the membership costs for a year. One shutdown on one purchase of that size covers the fee, in credits. If the announcement came in month fourteen instead, both buyers would receive nothing, unless the Plus member had bought on Plus Pro Annual with its 24-month cover. If the tool had been a Radar listing, both would have received nothing from the day the refund window closed.

That arithmetic is why the membership question exists. The coupons, the 10% discount and the full break-even are worked out in the AppSumo Plus break-even analysis. The point here is narrower: the shutdown cover is the Plus benefit most review pages skip, and it changes what a Select purchase is worth after day sixty.

What does the Trustpilot score say?

On 25 September 2026 AppSumo's Trustpilot profile showed a TrustScore of 3.6 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews. The distribution is the interesting part: 75% five-star, 3% four-star, under 1% three-star, 2% two-star and 19% one-star. Almost nobody is lukewarm. The profile is claimed, so AppSumo can respond to reviews.

Read the one-star reviews as themes rather than as evidence about individual cases, and two dominate. The first is We Got Your Back claims refused or disputed after a tool shut down. The second is refunds issued as store credit rather than back to the card. Both are the mechanisms described above working as written: the thirty-day claim deadline, the credits-not-cash rule, and refunds landing on the payment method used at purchase.

The five-star theme is support responsiveness. So the same support desk earns most of the praise and most of the anger, which tells you the complaints are about policy outcomes rather than about being ignored. None of the one-star themes is "the product never arrived". That is the difference between a marketplace with hard rules and a scam. AppSumo is the former. A 3.6 is still not a good score. Read it as a warning that the rules are enforced as written, and that buyers who did not read them feel cheated when they meet them.

Transparency note: CriticNest has not joined AppSumo's affiliate program as of 25 September 2026 and has no affiliate or commercial relationship with AppSumo or with any deal named on this page. Every AppSumo link in this article is a plain link with no tracking parameter; if that changes, the disclosure will move to the top of this article. Every quotation and figure was read from AppSumo's own help centre, partner page and product pages, and from AppSumo's Trustpilot profile, on 25 September 2026.

AI tools changed what a lifetime deal contains

Since 2025 many AppSumo deals are AI tools, and AppSumo has said in writing that the lifetime model does not fit them unchanged. In a blog post titled "How lifetime deals work in the new AI era", by Katie Weeks and published 4 September 2025, the company wrote: "Lifetime deals with unlimited AI sound great on paper, but this model can lead to slow tools, unclear limits, and unhappy users."

The fix it describes is a change in what you buy: "The lifetime deals we're known for now come with new payment structures for certain AI tools: credit bundles, annual refreshes, or an option to connect your own API key." And the clause to read before paying for any AI deal: "To keep deals sustainable as models evolve, some lifetime offers lock credits to the models available at launch, or to future models with similar costs."

In practice a lifetime AI deal is now a monthly credit allowance for life, tied to the model generation on sale at launch. That is still a real product, and often a cheap one. It is not unlimited use of whatever model exists in 2028. The deal page's Q&A tab is where vendors answer credit questions. The SEO deals show the same pattern, and how their credit allowances stack up against a Semrush seat is set out in the review of AppSumo's SEO lifetime deals.

A pre-purchase checklist, taken from the terms

Five checks, each drawn from a rule quoted above. They take about five minutes, and they are the difference between a bargain and a one-star review.

Read the badge first. Select carries 50% or 100% shutdown credit for twelve months. LaunchPad carries it for Plus members only. Radar carries none. The badge sits on the deal page above the price, and it is the most important line on it.

Read the refund line on the deal page, not the help centre. Most deals show 60 days. Some show 30. Some, including deals rated above 4.9, show "Not refundable". The policy points to the deal page, so the deal page is the contract.

Redeem inside the window, on the day you buy. Unredeemed codes cannot be refunded once the window closes, and a code sitting in your account is not being tested.

Test the workflow you actually need, not the demo. Connect the real accounts, run the real job, and decide by the middle of the window. A tool that looks fine in the first week and fails in the last leaves no time to file.

Write down the shutdown claim rule. Thirty days from the closure announcement, by email to support@appsumo.com, paid in credits. If you would not spend credits on AppSumo again, treat the coverage as zero when you decide.

Deal prices and availability change weekly. Every price in this article was read on 25 September 2026, a sold-out deal may return in a later batch, and batch pricing can rise when one batch sells out. The Hostinger Bundle is priced that way, and it is a useful stress test of this checklist: a one-year subscription sold as a deal, non-refundable, auto-renewing on Hostinger's site. The Hostinger Bundle's renewal arithmetic shows what that costs in year two. Sales move the calendar too: a purchase on the first day of a November sale has a refund window that closes in the middle of January, and how AppSumo's Black Friday drops worked in 2025 explains why the cheapest day and the safest day are not the same day.

Who should not buy a lifetime deal?

Anyone whose business would stop if the tool did. A closure credit in AppSumo currency does not rebuild a client's booking flow or recover an email list mid-campaign. If the tool sits between you and revenue, pay the subscription to a vendor whose survival is priced into the bill.

Anyone who buys to try. The refund window is a testing window, but a pattern of buy-and-return is what the suspension clause is written for, and AppSumo publishes no number for "unreasonable". Buy what you have already decided you need.

Anyone who cannot spend AppSumo credits. Shutdown cover pays in credits, and credits are "not exchangeable for cash". If this is your only purchase, every protection after the refund window is worth less to you than to a repeat buyer.

Anyone buying an AI tool for a named model. The credits may be locked to launch-era models or to "future models with similar costs". If the tool's value to you is the newest model, a subscription that upgrades with the vendor is the safer buy.

If none of those apply and you buy several tools a year, AppSumo is a reasonable place to buy. To compare it with the other stores, two sibling articles do the work. The survey of lifetime-deal sites that were actually open on 25 September 2026 found that only four of the six marketplaces every roundup lists showed a working storefront with a published refund window. And the AppSumo and StackSocial refund comparison explains why StackSocial pushes its refund rule down to each product page while AppSumo publishes a default.

Most "AppSumo review" pages are written by affiliates

One more thing to know when you search this question. AppSumo runs an affiliate program, and its terms page at appsumo.com/p/affiliates says publishers "Earn 100% of the sale (up to $50) in commission whenever a new AppSumo customer you send us makes a purchase". Returning-customer commissions "vary between 0-15% based on contract terms", there is a "7-day cookie to help monitor your referrals", and the platform is Impact Radius. Then the clause that matters: "We cannot pay for any referred customers that have returned their purchase."

Read that clause twice. An affiliate who sends you to AppSumo earns up to $50 on your first purchase, and loses it if you refund. That is a direct financial reason for a review page to steer you away from the refund window. It does not make those pages dishonest. It does mean the sentence "AppSumo is 100% legit, buy with confidence" is usually written by someone paid on the condition that you do not return the product. CriticNest has not joined that program as of 25 September 2026, which is why this article spends its length on the refund and shutdown terms rather than on a list of deals to buy.

The short version

AppSumo is a legitimate marketplace with a real company behind it: sixteen years of operation, a revenue-share model that pays it only when a deal sells, and a refund process that returns money to the original payment method within the window on each deal page. Nothing in its terms or its Trustpilot profile points to fraud. What the terms do show is that your protection after the refund window is set by the badge, not by the marketplace. Select tools carry a 50% shutdown credit for twelve months, or 100% for Plus members. LaunchPad tools carry cover only for Plus members. Radar tools carry none. Claims must be filed within thirty days of the closure announcement and are paid in credits, never cash. The decision rule: read the badge and the refund line before the price, redeem on day one, test the real job inside the window, and never buy a Radar deal with money you would miss. Do that and the 19% one-star outcome on Trustpilot is one you will not join. All terms and prices here were read on 25 September 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is AppSumo legit?

Yes. AppSumo is a software marketplace founded in March 2010 by Noah Kagan and owned by Sumo Group, Inc. It earns a negotiated share of each sale and refunds to the original payment method within the window stated on each deal page. Its Trustpilot score was 3.6 from 1,513 reviews on 25 September 2026, and the one-star themes concern shutdown credits and credit-not-cash refunds, not fraud.

How does AppSumo work?

Software vendors apply to list, AppSumo says it accepts about 10% of applications, and accepted deals are sold at a one-time price for the lifetime of the product. AppSumo takes a negotiated share of each sale rather than a listing fee. Buyers redeem a code with the vendor and have a refund window set on the deal page. On Select and LaunchPad deals they may claim store credit if the tool shuts down within the coverage period.

Is AppSumo safe to buy from?

The marketplace is safe in the sense that refunds inside the window go to your original payment method and the company has operated since 2010. The risk sits in the individual tool. Select deals carry a 50% shutdown credit for ordinary buyers and 100% for Plus members for twelve months. LaunchPad deals cover Plus members only. Radar deals, which AppSumo says have not been fully vetted, carry nothing after the refund window closes.

What is AppSumo's refund policy?

AppSumo's Refund Policy offers a "full refund of the purchase price within the timeframe stated on the deal page (ex: 30 days, 60 days)". Most deals show 60 days, some 30, and some are marked not refundable. Once the window passes, "you will not be able to process a return". Digital downloads cannot be refunded, and AppSumo may suspend accounts that seek refunds on an unreasonable number of purchases.

Can I get a refund on an AppSumo deal I never redeemed?

Only inside the refund window. The Refund FAQ states that "Refunds for unredeemed or unused tools will not be provided outside our refund window." Leaving a code unredeemed does not pause the clock. If the window on the deal page was 60 days and you neither redeemed nor refunded in that time, the purchase is final. Redeem on the day you buy so the window is spent testing.

Does AppSumo refund to your card or as store credit?

Refunds inside the window go to "the original form of payment that was selected during your refund." PayPal refunds arrive immediately and card refunds post within five to ten business days. If you paid with AppSumo credits, the refund returns as credits. Shutdown credits under We Got Your Back are different: they are always issued as AppSumo Credits, which are "not exchangeable for cash".

What happens if an AppSumo tool shuts down?

It depends on the badge. For a Select tool that closes within the coverage period, non-Plus buyers can claim 50% of the purchase price as store credit and Plus members 100%. For LaunchPad tools, only Plus members are covered. Radar tools carry no cover. The coverage period is twelve months from purchase, or 24 months if bought on Plus Pro Annual, and you must email support within 30 days of the closure announcement.

What is the difference between AppSumo Select, LaunchPad and Radar?

Select is described as "Carefully selected by AppSumo for quality, performance, and support" and is a badge earned by top performing partners. LaunchPad tools are "Chosen by AppSumo for their potential and innovation". Radar tools are "brand new and at the earliest stage of their journey" and "have not gone through a full vetting process". Only Select and LaunchPad carry shutdown cover under We Got Your Back.

Why does AppSumo have a 3.6 on Trustpilot?

Because the reviews are polarised: on 25 September 2026 the profile showed 75% five-star and 19% one-star from 1,513 reviews, with almost nothing in between. The five-star theme is support responsiveness. The one-star themes are We Got Your Back claims refused or disputed after a shutdown, and refunds issued as store credit rather than to the card. Those are the published rules being enforced, not evidence of a scam.

Is AppSumo worth it?

For a buyer who purchases several tools a year, can spend AppSumo credits and reads the badge and refund line before the price, yes. For a buyer whose business depends on one tool staying alive, or who wants the newest AI model rather than launch-era credits, a subscription is safer. Deal prices and availability change weekly, so treat every figure here as read on 25 September 2026.

Ashikur Rahman

Author

Ashikur Rahman

SEO and AI Search Specialist

I run SEO and AI search campaigns for medical, legal and tech businesses, and I review the tools I use along the way. Every price and claim on this site is checked at source.

Related Posts

Need SEO or a Website That Actually Ranks?

I help medical practices, law firms, and tech companies rank on Google, with 9+ years of specialized SEO. From SEO-first website design to AI search optimization, let's grow your business.

Get a Free SEO Audit